Who's Online
|
There are currently 1401 online users. [Complete List] » 5 Member(s) | 1396 Guest(s)
|
|
|
Thread Rating:
- 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
- 1
- 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
[PROJECT CLOSED] Horsing around
|
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
2014-08-13, 09:13
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-17, 09:26 by aus9.)
while I wait for my fastboot adapter to arrive, my "play" phone has arrived from GearBest
[Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register]
I plan to soft brick this phone and not my phone in signature.
Firstly I enable developer mode to enable USB debugging
Now to check it attached to Linux PC via NORMAL data cable, not a FACTORY data cable
Code: Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.475132] usb 2-1.2: new high-speed USB device number 5 using ehci-pci
Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.567752] usb 2-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=1782, idProduct=5d24
Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.567760] usb 2-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=2, Product=3, SerialNumber=4
Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.567765] usb 2-1.2: Product: Spreadtrum
Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.567769] usb 2-1.2: Manufacturer: Spreadtrum
Aug 13 09:03:52 asus kernel: [ 4008.567772] usb 2-1.2: SerialNumber: 51153374112069
We will need this info .....idVendor=1782 to make an udev rule for adb later.
Someone has already registered this vendor with [Only registered and activated users can see links Click here to register] as per
Quote:1782 Spreadtrum Communications Inc.
Notice its not a mediatek device
Initially I did not have a sim card inserted and google app = Spec device shows phone appeared to have only GSM which is not what seller shows.
So I removed my micro-sim from Iocean and used an adapter to plug into M-Horse
and its all good as per image and phone call.....antenna says 3G as well
No further tests to follow for phone calls as its a pain to insert the adapter
Altho its not mentioned as a supported device lets try to root it with framaroot
Posts: 411
Threads: 34
Joined: 2014-03-06
Points:
4,379
Reputation: +403
oh man, that spreadtrum chipset really sucks.
why not go for a cheap mt6577w?
i even found a cheap Qualcomm phone -> Phicom C230w for about 56 USD
for that price quite interesting, as it has a Qualcomm MSM8210 1.2Ghz Dual Core, half a gig ram and 4Gig rom.
You and aus9 like this post
my phones current and past:
Brand phones:- Samsung Galaxy Apollo/Leo/3 - retired, 2x Samsung Galaxy S - gone, Samsung Galaxy Note - stolen , Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos - retired
- Samsung Galaxy S3
- Samsung Galaxy S4 black edition (work issue)
China phones:- Pinphone 3 (never received), Smarty A8 (MTK6515 HTC Chacha clone), iNew V3 - sold
- Xiaomi Redmi 1s - Wife's daily driver
- Xiaomi MI3 64GB with MagicSim on dual bootMIUI v5 (4.8.22) /CM11
Others: - ZTE Open (FirefoxOS) - now running ICS! -retired from duty.
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
yes well I should explain I needed to keep the price as low as possible plus
3g 850/2100
wifi
but my RAM is what makes it really suck but I did not buy it as a working phone.
I bought to to soft brick it.
mediatek are fairly easy to root using framaroot.
I intend to use fastboot to root it.
but I need to have some system images, boot images etc so must wait for my fastboot/factory adapter first.
thanks for caring tho
You and linr76 like this post
Posts: 411
Threads: 34
Joined: 2014-03-06
Points:
4,379
Reputation: +403
2014-08-13, 19:40
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-13, 19:42 by linr76.)
i am currently also searching for a cheap backup phone, as the ZTE Open just doesn't cut it.
the Single core CPU and 256MB RAM make it barely usable.
that's why i was interested in the Phicomm one, seems to be a decent backup phone for cheap.
i might buy an Elephone P6i though just to piss off some Apple fans
and now utterly off-topic -
i just *love" your choice of thread title.
made me laugh so hard when i saw the phones name...
You, Athos, aus9 like this post
my phones current and past:
Brand phones:- Samsung Galaxy Apollo/Leo/3 - retired, 2x Samsung Galaxy S - gone, Samsung Galaxy Note - stolen , Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos - retired
- Samsung Galaxy S3
- Samsung Galaxy S4 black edition (work issue)
China phones:- Pinphone 3 (never received), Smarty A8 (MTK6515 HTC Chacha clone), iNew V3 - sold
- Xiaomi Redmi 1s - Wife's daily driver
- Xiaomi MI3 64GB with MagicSim on dual bootMIUI v5 (4.8.22) /CM11
Others: - ZTE Open (FirefoxOS) - now running ICS! -retired from duty.
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
while waiting for my fastboot adapter to arrive time to play with udev
I initially tested my iocean as I have a new PC running Xubuntu
iocean works great
spreadtrum device not so
here is the solution after a bit of google
1) Create a text file with contents
Quote:0x1782
save as /home/ /.android/adb_usb.ini
2) Create the udev rule with contents
Quote:#m-horse
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1782", MODE="666", GROUP="plugdev"
use root powers to save as (the name can vary)
/etc/udev/rules.d/55-mh.rules
3) restart your udev service, for *buntu thats
Code: service udev restart
others can try
Code: sudo udevadm control --reload-rules
4) Android debugging on
insert normal data cable
Code: adb kill-server
adb start-server
adb devices
Now the fun begins......you have to go back into your Android and you will see a security popup box asking if you accept interactions with your PC and remember the option as YES
b) in that area ....system settings -> developer you will also find an option called
"revoke USB debugging authority"
in case you swap PC
5) now back to PC
Code: adb devices -l
List of devices attached
51153374112069 device usb:3-2 product:c935w_jhm_e08plus_UUIhvga model:S51 device:c935w_jhm_e08
Athos, spiro, linr76 like this post
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
well I am not so great
just tried the Linux stuff using m otochopper and we get only so far
Code: adb push pwn /data/local/tmp/
4656 KB/s (1283460 bytes in 0.269s)
adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/pwn
adb push su /data/local/tmp/
7482 KB/s (366952 bytes in 0.047s)
adb push busybox /data/local/tmp/
6385 KB/s (1867568 bytes in 0.285s)
adb install Superuser.apk
5889 KB/s (1578585 bytes in 0.261s)
pkg: /data/local/tmp/Superuser.apk
Success
adb shell /data/local/tmp/pwn
[+] This may take a few minutes.
[-] Failure.
You like this post
Posts: 411
Threads: 34
Joined: 2014-03-06
Points:
4,379
Reputation: +403
i assume the pwn script/program remounts the system folder rw?
You and aus9 like this post
my phones current and past:
Brand phones:- Samsung Galaxy Apollo/Leo/3 - retired, 2x Samsung Galaxy S - gone, Samsung Galaxy Note - stolen , Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos - retired
- Samsung Galaxy S3
- Samsung Galaxy S4 black edition (work issue)
China phones:- Pinphone 3 (never received), Smarty A8 (MTK6515 HTC Chacha clone), iNew V3 - sold
- Xiaomi Redmi 1s - Wife's daily driver
- Xiaomi MI3 64GB with MagicSim on dual bootMIUI v5 (4.8.22) /CM11
Others: - ZTE Open (FirefoxOS) - now running ICS! -retired from duty.
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
Code: strings pwn | grep remount
mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system
but I am struggling with this wonderful device
gives me
not a good sign however by pressing the volume up button I get into recovery
and only tested the reboot function
I will look at doing those m-chopper commands manually only if my fastboot cable fails to give me what I want.....and what I need
Posts: 411
Threads: 34
Joined: 2014-03-06
Points:
4,379
Reputation: +403
i see, also you are very thorough it seems, since mount -o rw,remount /system is sufficient ;)
well, nothing to add really, hope it works out for you.
my phones current and past:
Brand phones:- Samsung Galaxy Apollo/Leo/3 - retired, 2x Samsung Galaxy S - gone, Samsung Galaxy Note - stolen , Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos - retired
- Samsung Galaxy S3
- Samsung Galaxy S4 black edition (work issue)
China phones:- Pinphone 3 (never received), Smarty A8 (MTK6515 HTC Chacha clone), iNew V3 - sold
- Xiaomi Redmi 1s - Wife's daily driver
- Xiaomi MI3 64GB with MagicSim on dual bootMIUI v5 (4.8.22) /CM11
Others: - ZTE Open (FirefoxOS) - now running ICS! -retired from duty.
Posts: 727
Threads: 60
Joined: 2014-01-30
Points:
8,462
Reputation: +604
kind words but I have tried it manually but
Code: adb shell mount -o remount,rw /system
mount: Operation not permitted
and pwn won't work with a Linux script as I just discovered for this device
Code: adb shell ls -al /dev/block/system
/dev/block/system: No such file or directory
Code: adb shell ls -al /system
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 14:30 app
drwxr-xr-x root shell 2014-06-26 14:23 bin
-rw-r--r-- root root 4228 2014-06-26 13:23 build.prop
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 14:31 etc
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 13:59 fonts
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 14:31 framework
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 14:31 lib
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 13:44 media
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 14:29 priv-app
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 13:44 res
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 13:44 user_fonts
drwxr-xr-x root root 2014-06-26 13:48 usr
drwxr-xr-x root shell 2014-06-26 14:20 vendor
drwxr-xr-x root shell 2014-06-26 14:22 xbin
my brain hurts so I shall linger no longer
I hope my fancy fastboot cable will resolve all permission issues as it should allow me to put me into "insecure" mode etc
cheers for now
|
Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
|
|